Prep and Planning for the Maiden Journey

Okay, journey isn’t quite right.  I’m thinking of going just to Caballo State Park, about 18 miles south of home.  And my middle-of-the-night thought is what ever am I going to DO sitting by the Rio Grande for 2 or 3 days.  Slight panic.  So I daydreamed a plan of the days’ activities – quite the opposite of the spontaneity I had wanted.  But the imagined plan was reassuring.  Walk the dog, eat breakfast, meditate, write, take pictures, edit photos – repeat as necessary.  It’s all the things I want to do without the distraction of the fridge or Facebook.

The light went on – this is the life I want.  It’s pure, it’s simple.  At least it will be when I get more comfortable with the RV.  I can fix some meals ahead because I don’t want to cook much.

Cassie in the doorway.  She did not want to be left out as I prepped the RV.

Cassie in the doorway. She did not want to be left out as I prepped the RV.

I made a list of what I needed to get – tire covers, spare keys, etc.  I also need two other lists.  One for things that stay in the RV but might need to be restocked occasionally – linens, kitchen stuff, etc.  And the other for trip-specific things – food, toiletries, clothes.  I’m looking forward to having the RV ready to go – just add food and clothes for the current trip.

Bought a camping pass for New Mexico State Parks.  It’s a bargain at $100. Dry camping will now be free for me; hook-ups will be $4 a night.

I made marinara sauce and froze enough for five dinners.  I’m getting eager to leave.

Looking toward the front - the bed in the cab-over.  There's a nice sturdy ladder for access.

Looking toward the front – the bed in the cab-over. There’s a nice sturdy ladder for access.

Made the bed in the cab-over.  Sure don’t want to do that very often – it’s a bit awkward, but it seems to be a comfortable bed.

I expect to sleep in the cab-over.  don’t want to have to take down the table and make up that bed daily.  I want the table up – it’s my writing area.  I like to have my journals accessible all the time.  So this area is not a dinette.  Is it an escritoire?  Maybe, but I have trouble pronouncing it.

 

The former dinette - now escritoire.  There must be a better name!  Look at all the windows around it.

The former dinette – now escritoire. There must be a better name! Look at all the windows around it.

In the house I’m realizing how wasteful I am.  Washing dishes, I think I can’t use this much water in the RV.  These are good lessons for me.

I’m ready to try my short trip to Caballo.  Actually it’s more a test of me rather than of the RV.  Dorothy (the RV) and I are going camping.

7 thoughts on “Prep and Planning for the Maiden Journey

  1. Hints from a sometime RV resident: keeping dish soap to a minimum results in being able to keep dish water to a minimum. If needed, another dishpan of the size used in hospitals for wash basins will work well. Paper dishes sometimes are expedient when water is at a premium. Turn off your water pump when not using water (less running down of the battery). We don’t have a potty in ours, but putting TP in a plastic bag rather than in the holding tank MIGHT give you more mileage on the tank. As to making the bed, we rarely sleep on the sheets but instead use a sleeping bag on top of the sheets which is easier to take on and off (lightweight fleece ones are available too). The sleeping bag opened up becomes a blanket (just thrown on top, not tucked in). We keep raincoats, hats, spare batteries for the flashlights, Bananagrams, and a tick remover in the camper all the time. We also have a camp stove because we like to cook outside, not inside (cleaner too).

    Have a great time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

